IIt is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that punishment is essential to help children distingues between right and wrong at an early age. I firmly agree with this opinion because punishment will coorelate wrong things with discomfort. I believe parents could restrict their child’s playtime and teachers could give their students extra homework as punishment, which are not physical, to encourage good behavior.

I feel strongly that punishment is important for children, to help them identify what is right and what is wrong. Most of the character development of a person happens in their childhood, that is why it is important to teach children the difference between right and wrong in an early age. Punishing a child when they do something that is inappropriate will relate that behavior with discomfort and most likely they will avoid doing those things in the future. For instance, in Nepal parents make their children to stand with their hands up in the air for a few minutes when they swear, this is to discourage them from speaking those words again.

I do think that parents and teachers should not hit any children. The punishments should not harm child physically. Parents instead could decrease the amount of time their child gets to play outside or with their video game. As for teachers they can give extra homework, which will not only work as punishment but will also help children in their test. This kind of punishment have been proven to be more effective than hitting them.

In conclusion, I agree that punishment is necessary to help children differenciate right and wrong in an early age because punishment will associate wrong things with discomfort. Parents and teachers should be allowed to give non-physical punishment like restricting playtime and giving extra homework.