In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals in various countries hold the idea of investing large amounts of money in modern railways to provide citizens with fast transportation across their country, while others argue that this money should be spent on different modes of transportation. In my opinion, although it is beneficial to have fast and reliable subways and trains for traveling between different urban areas, it is more important to invest money in harmless and pollution-free means of transport.

Proponents of faster transport state that trains provide safe, affordable, and convenient travel for citizens. Firstly, some individuals cannot afford to buy their own vehicle and see trains as a cheap and suitable form of transportation to commute to their workplaces or universities in another town. Secondly, the abundance of cars and motorcycles on roads is mind-blowing, making it difficult for pedestrians to walk and pass the streets fast and safely. Furthermore, cars contribute to air pollution, causing different diseases and ailments among residents. As an example, in developing countries, such as Iran, we can see that various respiratory diseases and cancers are prevalent among the most susceptible members of society, such as the elderly or children.

However, I believe that limiting ourselves to train transport is not the best way to improve transportation across cities. Carrying wagons consumes significant amounts of fossil fuel, which is a main source of illness. The solution is to invest funding in bicycles and electric cars, as they are environment-friendly and good for nature. Some programs have been introduced in European countries, such as Germany, that allow users to rent bicycles, scooters, and electric cars (named Mini) conveniently using their smartphones. These schemes are being introduced to many other countries including developing countries to address air pollution and reduce CO2 emission levels.

In conclusion, while trains provide reliable travel between cities, they are not the ultimate solution. I think that using means of transport that use sustainable energy can be more efficient and helpful.