in a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities others leave that money should be spent on improving exciting public transport discuss both these views and give your opinion

The issue of public transportation has been widely discussed in recent years. Many people believe that it is beneficial to invest more money on fast public transport that can get you to another city in hours while others claim that it is better to use this money on exisiting trasnportation.

One main reason why so many people want to have faster trains is that nowadays people appreciate convinience and care about their time. They don’t want to spend days or long hours travelling to their destination when it’s possible to reach it in couple of hours. A good illustration of this is my trip to Uzbekistan. I wanted to visit a very meaningful historical city, Samarqand but I was staying in Tashkent. Unfortunately, I didn’t book tickets to a fast two hour train in advance. It turned out that these fast trains are so popular, that people buy tickets weeks before their trip. So I decided to take a four hour ride on a regular train and my travel was exhausting, it was too hot and the vagon was very crowdy. After this travel I realized why tickets to the fast train were all taken. My example illustartes that people would rather choose a faster option if it’s available because they value their comfort and time even though it’s more expensive and difficult to get.

On the other hand, some people believe that it’s better to improve existing transportation. This is because it requires less money to repair or improve existing railway, for example, rather than building a new one from the scratch. So it is more reasonable to use already existing types of transport. Moreover, faster trains are usually more expensive. Some people who don’t have enough money are forced to use old trains without conviniences of new ones. I saw families with babies struggling while riding this train and I assumed that they don’t have enough money to buy tickets to the expensive fast train or just like me didn’t do it early enough. And this train that I took from Tashkent to Samarqand was very old. The air conditioner didn’t work, seats were dirty and overall interior seemed old fashioned. It makes sense because Uzbekistan invest more money on new fast railways. It seems to me that it’s better to improve already existing trains and other types of transportation rather than creating new faster ways of travelling. I believe that this investemnt could improve more lives of citizens because it would be more affordable and easier to have access to.

To sum up, both views are valid. Both opinions make sense but I am strongly convinced that it’s better to spend money on already existing transport because it would be more reasonable.