In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The old people in Britain, often go to aged care centers to look after themselves and the sometimes the government is financially helping them for it. This essay will argue that both the government and the family should pay that fee. This essay will first highlight that tax payment by the individuals to the government in their early age is the primarily reason that government should pay partially that fee and to retain country’s economy the family should pay that fee.

Every individual happily pay taxes to the government with a vision that the government would them back when their circumstances require that. The money accumulated due to these taxes is huge and it is the government responsibility to partially support them during their old age and hence, pay partially their aged care fee. This will keep the individual happily paying taxes imposed by the government and will ultimately help the nation to prosper. Finland is a prime example, where individuals pay taxes to the government even though the tax rates in Finland are really high.

Families’ share for their elder’s aged care fee will diminish the sole burden on the government. If the families don’t pay this share, the burden on the government would be enormous in which case the government will not be able to invest in other things which are necessary for the development of the nation. The resultant outcome would be a decline in the nation’s economy. Taking aforementioned example of Finland, families pay a 40% share for their old members aged care institute’s fee and consequently there is not much burden on the government regarding that which helps the government to invest in other development areas of the country.

In conclusion, both the government and the families should pay for elder’s aged care fee. By paying a share for this, the government will ultimately grow its economy and the family’s share in this would reduce the burden on the government.