In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

In the present time, living a longer life is a blessing. In many nations, period of life existence has increased. This development has merits and demerits that I will discuss with related examples and also mention my opinion in the following essay.

To begin with, several reasons can be put forth to support that nowadays individuals are living longer lives. First and foremost, the main reason behind this situation is humans’ fit and healthy lifestyles. For example, in many countries, people of all ages are doing exercises and consuming a diet which include more vitamins and nutrients. Not only this, but due to advancements in the healthcare field, people easily recover from any disease which are life-threatening.

On the other hand, we cannot ignore that this situation also has some disadvantages for people. The number one con is that hospitals charge high rates of money for the treatments. As a result, individuals who are not financially stable, they have to borrow money from the bank as a debt. Moreover, another disadvantage is that numerous organizations have older employees who are above 60. As a consequence, younger and talented people suffer from unemployment. To illustrate, in my hometown, 40% of recent graduates are not able to get jobs due to the increase in life expectancy.

To conclude, and in my opinion, the surge of life expectancy is beneficial for those people who want to become healthy and increase their lifespan. However, this trend has drawbacks for those who are struggling financially for medical as well as for employment.