In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Obesity in young children has become a pandemic in many parts of the World. In this essay, I will give reasons for this problem such as the quality of food and a lack of awareness. I will also provide solutions to address this issue including consuming a healthy diet and industry regulation.

An increasing number of children are diagnosed with obesity each year, mainly due to pre-processed food made for babies, which lacks proper nutrition. Furthermore, parents nowadays are not aware of what a child’s diet should consist of, due to a shortage of time and resources they prefer pre-made baby food, over home cooked meals. A number of reports have concluded that baby formula commonly sold in markets has adverse impacts on the growth of a child. When a child’s meal primarily consists of carbohydrates and fats this will lead to problems such as obesity.

To address this situation an enhancement in the government oversight of the food industry is required to ensure that it maintains the proper standards alongside increasing parental awareness. To contrast the medical sector is heavily regulated to ensure its quality, similarly food for children should also be tested and labelled with an ingredients chart. By educating parents on the importance of a child’s diet they can weigh their options and select the one that is appropriate. Proper research, state regulation, and parental care are the means to solving this epidemic in our youth.

To conclude poorly made food and unaware parents have lead to child obesity, this can be resolved by introducing higher standards for the food industry and educating parents about the harms of a poor diet.