In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that government should have the responsibility. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

In the light of the alarming trend in obesity and diseases in children around the world, individuals propose that governments should assume the responsibility to address this issue. I largely agree with them given their unique legal and financial power even though parents should also contribute to the effort to an extent.

The first rationale for my agreement to hold lawmakers responsible is that they are the only ones who have the constitutional authority to issue legislation that can directly mitigate children’s health problems. For instance, a complete prohibition of fast food in school areas enacted by the Vietnamese government has forced many fattening dishes such as fried chicken wings to be withdrawn from school menus, contributing to a remarkable decline in obesity in some areas.

Another argument for why I agree that governmental bodies should deal with children’s health concerns is their uncomparable financial resources. Their budget is generated by various taxes and enormous profits from state companies, and it can be used to sponsor not only ambitious healthcare research but also large-scale campaigns to enhance the public’s understanding of children’s health, which can collectively lead to a reduction in children’s excessive weight and unhealthiness.

However, I acknowledge that the role of parents should not be neglected. They might encourage their offspring to abandon sedentary lifestyles and embrace more physical activities to facilitate fat burning and increased metabolism. By contrast, if parents are unaware of children’s health issues, they might indulge them with fatty foods or passive pastimes such as computer games or watching TV, which would cause the endeavours by the government to be in vain.

In conclusion, I am mostly in agreement with the idea of governments bearing the obligation of solving the ongoing problems of children being obese and unhealthy as they possess an unparalleled authority and budget. Nevertheless, parents’ involvement is also crucial. That is why the government ought to develop a master plan to involve all entities to comprehensively improve the overall well-being of future generations.