In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many nations, many young people suffer from overweight and becoming unhealthy. Some argue that policy makers are accountable for solving this problem. While I acknowledge the importance of promoting healthy food by the state to help youngsters stay fit, I firmly believe that parents should play the primary role in maintaining their children’s health.

To begin with, government can affect the way children lead their lifestyle. In more detail, the state could invest in promoting healthy food instead of promoting fast food which can lead to obesity. Fast food is not the main problem, children could also be encouraged to take part in sport programs to stay fit. In addition, the state could also provide a monetary incentive for youngsters who are interested in sports acting as a role model for all children. Take Uzbekistan as an example, young sportsmen are always generously rewarded by policy makers for their effort and for being a good example of what children can achieve leading a healthy lifestyle.

Turning to the other side of the argument, parents play an important role in the lifestyle of their children. From my perspective, parents could include making healthy food with their children in their upbringing methods, which would structure fundamental food preferences in children. In my childhood, for instance, my parents encouraged me to prepare dinners with them which helped me to realise that simple healthy products, such as vegetables and fruits, could be just as delicious as junk food.

To conclude, I strongly believe that, although the state can play a supportive role, parents should be responsible for their children’s healthy lifestyle.