In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In most countries, children face problems with obesity, which leads to a decline in their overall well-being. While some claim that it is solely the government’s responsibility to tackle this issue, as authorities can foster health awareness among children, I do believe that parents have a huge impact on their children’s eating habits, by influencing them more, which makes them even more responsible to find the solution to the problem.

Some people believe that the governments have the responsibility for the health status of their residents, particularly youngsters, as they control public education and school meal programs, which directly dictate the nutrition intake habits of children. Admittedly, since children attend school the majority of their days, the government has a target audience to teach healthy eating habits to. By organizing campaigns that instruct children on how to reach the nutrition balance in their day-to-day meals, for example, authorities may foster a noticeable decline in obesity rates among children.

However, even though the governments are able to guide youngsters on how to maintain healthy living and provide access to high-nutrition meals, the family environment plays a more crucial role. Since parenting influence begins from infancy, parents serve as direct role models when it comes to food choice. The frequency of well-balanced home-cooked meals, for example, shapes in children’s minds the importance of adding fresh, nutritious products in their diet from a very young age.

In conclusion, the responsibility should be shared due to the amount of time spent by children with their parents, which makes caregivers the primarily responsible ones,even though the authorities should also contribute to raising healthy-eating awareness among children.