In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

The development of human civilization has increasingly shifted individuals’ lifestyles, which also significantly changed that of children. One of the most radical changes is the higher level of freedom children may have in today’s society compared to what they had in the past. While there could be a minor concern behind this trend, I still believe it emerges as a favorable development for several reasons.

Opponents of providing children with more freedom may highlight several anti-social behaviors possibly developed through this trend. To be specific, children these days are open to articulate their thoughts, which may sometimes lead to several inappropriate deliveries. A prime example of this problem could be witnessed in the Vietnam education landscape where young students at a very young age insult their teachers on social media platforms such as Facebook or Tiktok as they think they have the freedom to express their feelings. Such occasions; as a result, may cultivate antisocial behaviors among children. However, the cases of abusing the freedom among children to commit bad activities have significantly decreased thanks to the interruption of education and regulation. For example, more and more children are aware of their sayings and expressions because they are well-educated at school and they could be subject to stringent punishments if their freedom harms others.

Despite the marginal concern, I strongly believe that the increasing level of freedom that children have today is a positive development for several compelling reasons. Chief among them is that this change can benefit their academic performances. Specifically, the wide openness to digital devices in the classroom compared to the limitation of using these tools in the past has enabled children to access new references or innovative concepts related to their lessons. This freedom; as a result, can help children stick to what they’ve learned as well as probably gain higher academic achievements. Another worth-mentioning reason is the great merit related to children’s mental and physical well-being. That children are allowed to express their thoughts and emotions freely but appropriately to adults, particularly their parents and teachers, may allow them to release stress and anxiety, thereby avoiding depression and other psychological issues. For these reasons, I reckon that adopting more freedom can be a great benefit to children.

In conclusion, while some people may oppose the higher freedom children have than what they had in the past, I still believe it is a favorable development. This is because not only can it positively affect children’s learning progress but it can also improve their physical and mental wellness.