In many countries, companies hire more men than women for certain positions. Some people believe that employers should be required to recruit equal numbers of men and women in every field. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In numerous countries, there are more men being hired than women in certain positions. Some people argue that companies should recruit people of both genders equally in every field. Personally, I totally disagree with the statement because two reasons: recruitment should be based on merit and this rule is not practical.

Firstly, recruitment should be based on merit rather than gender. This enables companies to be able recruit suitable candidates for each position so that work can be run efficiently. For instance, for certain jobs such as construction, men are better to be recruited since generally men are stronger than women. With more men in these job fields, the companies can work more productively and forcing gender equality allows it to reduce the efficiency. This shows that gender should not be looked at when deciding recruitment but companies should look on their skills.

Furthermore, making equal recruitment by genders is often not practical since there are differences in workplace participation. In most societies, men dominated the role to fulfill family needs by working, whereas women are working as a housewife. This results in an uneven applicant pool between men and women. If gender equality was mandatory in the workplace than men would have to compete more for the same position compared to women, which is unfair.

In conclusion, recruitment should not be based on gender, but instead it should be based on merit because it is more productive. Moreover, prioritizing gender equality in recruitment practices is impractical since it leads to less competition between women compared to men, which is not fair.