In many countries, companies hire more men than women for certain positions. Some people believe that employers should be required to recruit equal numbers of men and women in every field. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that some companies prefer to hire males rather than females for particular positions. Therefore, some people believe that equality of men and women in every industry should be ensured. I completely agree with this opinion and will discuss the reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, gender inequality is a global issue around the world, not only in working sphere, but in many other aspects of life. This is mainly because of established principles formulated many years ago, when women had very few rights, and everything was surrounded across men. For instance, many female authors, such as J. K. Rowling, were forced to publish their books under male pseudonyms, otherwise their books would simply not be accepted for printing.

Moreover, during 19th and 20th centuries, many women faced with harassment at work and were unable to sue their colleagues, due to the absence of a senior positions and their complaints would not have been taken seriously. These stereotypes began to broke, when Anna Shchetinina, the First female long-distance sailing captain, surpassed man’s achievement in this occupation. After her success, more women began to occupy higher positions. Therefore, in my opinion, government should continue to support the progress made fight for women’s rights and provide equal conditions and salaries for all employees, relying only on their skills, and not their gender.

In conclusion, I firmly believe even though gender inequality has existed for centuries, society has made significant progress toward equal rights. However, this progress must continue. Ensuring equal opportunities every profession will not only promote fairness but also allow both men and women to contribute their full potential to the development of society.