In many countries, government sponsorship of the arts costs million in taxpayers' money. There are many more important things to spend money on. Do you agree?

In many parts of the world, government funding of the arts involves substantial amounts of taxpayers’ money. While some argue that such spending is unnecessary, I completely disagree with this view and believe that government investment in the arts is essential.

Taxes are a necessary obligation for citizens, ensuring the functioning of the state. Investing in art is important because it reflects the citizens themselves. Films, paintings, music, clothing, and so on are an integral reflection of society. This kind of activity has always been valued, reflecting the society in which people live and presenting diverse stories that people can experience. Without art, people cannot express themselves, raise important issues, or promote ideas. For instance, “Dead Poets Society” highlights problems such as social pressure, lack of freedom of choice and the suppression of creativity. By bringing these issues to public attention, the film encourages social reflection and discussion. Therefore, supporting the arts helps societies develop culturally and intellectually, making such spending socially valuable.

Art is also taught in schools from childhood, which helps people develop empathy, emotional intelligence, and the ability to see things from more than just one perspective, rather than dividing the world into “black” and “white.” Moreover, because this is instilled from childhood, it creates a passion for traveling to see great works of art, which helps develop tourism, jobs, and civic engagement.

However, there are those who do not want their taxes going toward developing areas they’re not interested in, as they’re not essential. People are skeptical of art, as their money could be misallocated. Corruption still exists today, for example, in some countries. Foundations invest large sums in the film industry, but when a film is released, people see that the budget doesn’t match what they see, as can be seen in the recent film productions, where the final result does not reflect the reported budget.

In conclusion, money should be invested in art because it helps people relax, develop, find themselves and the work they love, and improve their quality of life. It also helps develop the country’s economy.