In many countries, it is very easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debts they cannot pay back. Do you think the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

Credit cards are often viewed through two distinct lenses, presenting both notable financial opportunities and significant risks. In my view, while there is potential for them to be used responsibly, I believe that consequences of missed payments present more concerning drawbacks.

On the one hand, the primary benefit is that they can be utilized as an emergency fund. This is because they eliminate the need for storing fiat currency, which experiences inflation. Consequently, credit card holders can have the best of both worlds: a safety net and they don’t lose value due to inflation. Furthermore, credit cards protect their owners from bank collapses while at the same time having the same convenience debit cards have. The reason for this is that while using a credit card the owner has the leverage – banks don’t store their funds. Ultimately, they can act as a powerful instrument for clients to protect themselves against crises.

Despite these benefits, the risks and instability credit cards carry are more significant. The main factor is that although they can momentarily provide more purchasing power, in the long term, these benefits vanish as the debt accumulates. The ease with which the credit card can be acquired results in the majority of clients not having enough financial literacy to manage the obligations. In addition to this, service fees significantly increase the cumulative cost of using them, often to the point exceeding inflation.

To conclude, although credit cards present some financial opportunities, it is my firm conviction that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages since they are often misused and are difficult for an average consumer to manage. On balance, it is crucial that credit cards are used wisely and are not treated as a way to afford more than a person can.