In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the pre-agricultural times there was an issue with the food production that would often lead to the global starvation. However, the production of food not only reached the point when the food has become widely accessable, but also exceed it, leading to a striking amounts of food being wasted. The reasons for that vary, but the main contributor is the overproduction. Nonetheless, the problem might be solved by the cooperative work of governments around the world.

The aforementioned overproduction results mainly from the competition between different producers. Since the big scale agruiculure have started supplying the whole humanity, people started being picky when it comes to food they want to eat. For example, nowadays, almost all corporations produce a large amounts – even without any orders from customer – to provide them with as much options as possible. Consequently, this often leads to the cases when products that are not consumed are transported to the food-waste lands, increasing the amount of wasted food.

The issue can be tackled down by the cooperation of goverments. In the first place, goverments around the world can create an organization that controls the production of food around the world. Then, they could set national limits for the amount of food produced in each country or by company. For example, if they lower the number of donuts poduced by donut manufactureres around the world they might already lower the waste by 5%. Moreover, governments can also introduce fines for the wasted food that are made by companies or fermers.

In conclusion, the overproduction seems to be the main problem to the food waste. However, this problem can be solved in a short period of time if goverments around the world start to take actions to prevent it.