In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the contemporary society, Individuals are unaware of food importance and waste food in large quantities which is going to affect all living organisms in future. There are many reasons which result in food wastage like improper storage facilities, ordering more food etc.

On one hand , upcoming generation are unfamiliar about food importance and order food more than their capacity and leave without eating completely while this action waste food and money . There are few under developed countries in the world who does not have food to eat even though they have money . Similarly , people organise marriages and events and arrange various kinds of food items in large amount which are thrown in dust bins whereas individuals also take food which is in large quantity only for tasting.

All these situations lead to food scarcity in future , to avoid this government must take initiatives like creating stalls to take left over food in quantities from organisers of marriages and other events and providing it to poor people or suppling it to orphanages. Similarly, Restaurants must charge twice money for wasting food which encourages to reduce food waste. Additionally, parents and teachers must teach children to waste less food and make them aware of consequences faced in future for food wastage.

In conclusion, People often waste food unknowingly or knowingly by ordering excess food , to show their richness by providing more varieties of food . To prevent this government , restaurants must take action to conserve food.