In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Across the world, the amount of food waste are becoming more significant. The main reasons can be attributed to a lack of awareness, overproduction and oversupply. However, this problem can be solved by improving awareness and food distribution.

The primary causes are the shortage of awareness and overproduction. Many people are not aware of their daily waste and cook and buy more than their need resulting in the rise in the amount of food waste. Moreover, numerous supermarkets and restaurants buy or produce more than necessary to meet consumers’ needs. As a result expirations dates expire and lead to increase of waste because of the number of unsold products.

However, this issue can be addressed by approaching several measures, such as increasing public awareness and food distribution. In detail, the government should establish curriculums in schools to make informed children about waste and its consequences. In addition, supermarkets and restaurants can give items, which expiration date is about to expire, to charities and poor individuals rather than throwing them away. These methods can influence to decline of food waste.

In conclusion, while a considerable amount of food are being wasted, several ways can tackle this trouble like improving food distribution and make people informed.