In many countries, more and more shops remain open until late every day of the week. Is it a positive or negative development for both the local community and shoppers?

Extended operating hours have had a beneficial effect on individual people as well as the local community and shoppers. However, while I believe that such development has a positive impact to the individual, I think it will have a damaging effect.

One problem that can arise from extended opened time is that it can disrupt family diymamics and quality time. If stores close early, people will have more time to engage with their families, whereas if stores close later, people will have less. It creates a disadvantage not just for the workers but also for their families. As a result, insufficient time together can lead to feeling more distant from family members and makes it harder for each other to stay updated on one another.

Another issue is that shops will have fewer opportunities to focus on improvements for the community. In other words, workers will not have enough time to make changes for the shops. For example, retailers frequently change their product layouts for seasonal trends. If shops have at least one day of the week as a free day, they can dedicate their time to enhance the customer and the workers’ experience.

Finally, late-night shopping will be prevented. For instance, if shops are open until midnight, some people may feel the need to stay until closing time, or start their shopping at a later time in the evening. This situation can be risky for many shoppers, as many crimes occur in the evening. Consequently, closing shops at an earlier time will be a safer option for the community.

In conclusion, for quality time with families, to foster improvements in shops, and to maintain a safe shopping environment, I believe that this is a negative development.