In many countries, much money is spent by governments and individuals for national days such as new year and religious festivals To what extent you agree or disagree?

Governments and individuals in the majority of countries spend too much money on religious festivals and national holidays. I partly agree with this statement; as people and governments consider that special days and festivals should be celebrated in a different way, they could spend much money on these.

On the one hand, there is too much attention and expenditure on some national days and religious festivals worldwide. For example, people spend lots of money on preparation, celebration and performances on Lunar New Year in China yearly, as they consider it to be the most important day of the year. Many people just waste their money on this holiday, while governments support them, organizing certain parades and parties, which motivates individuals to spend more and more. The Carnival in Brazil can be another example for this tendency, as hundreds of thousands of people look for this celebration every year to wear special costumes and dance on some national music.

On the other hand, in some cases, the considerable amount of money spent on some holidays, especially religious ones, pays off. If it becomes a tradition from the past years, it will not be too much for people to spend money on some special days or festivals. For instance, individuals celebrating Eid-al-Adha every year sacrifice one sheep, making it possible to make some wishes for a coming year. It is a tradition from the early past, so money spent on this celebration gives people more opportunity in the field of religion.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that many people and governments spend too much money on some special days. However, if people want, they can spend as much as they can afford on days important for them.