In many countries people are living in a "throwaway society" where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to? - Full essay

In recent decades, we have witnessed a considerable increase in the popularity of a throwaway culture among people in many parts of the world. In this essay, I will explore the reasons for this phenomenon and the problems that may arise because of it.

Over the past years, materialism has become normal consumer behavior for many individuals, fueled by factors such as the influence of celebrity endorsements and social media platforms. Therefore, the majority of people buy things like fashionable clothing, the latest models of gadgets, or luxurious cars only to follow popular trends or to look stylish and rich, even though they do not really need these items in their daily lives. Additionally, the abundance of low-quality products with inadequate durability contributes to worsening the current situation in which customers regret their purchases and just throw them away after a short period, leading to different problems that I want to mention in the following paragraph.

A widespread throwaway behavior among individuals has had a detrimental effect on ecology so far. For instance, the increasing amount of wastage in many countries has already led to air and water pollution, posing a threat to both humans and marine life. This, consequently, has led to several health issues, like weakened immune systems and a loss of biodiversity in many seas and rivers. Moreover, materialistic parents serve as role models for the younger generation, correspondingly preparing them to continue this trend and completely run out of resources one day in the near future.

To conclude, the recent surge in materialistic consumerism and the abundance of low-quality products have resulted in the popularity of a throwaway culture globally. Unfortunately, this phenomenon is followed by imminent catastrophes, such as pollution and losses of biodiversity as well as resources. Nevertheless, we can prevent these from happening when all of us unite to take collective action with hope and determination.