In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think it is? What problems can it cause?

Nowadays, the population in some nations intends to immigrate to metropolises instead of living in rural areas. From my point of view, there are several reasons given to explain this trend and I also discuss various consequences for this view.

To begin with, there are three factors contributing to the increasing movement to cities. Firstly, individuals want to improve their living standards by approaching the best facilities. Compared to villages, cities are the developed destinations in most nations, which are full of amenities such as hospitals, shopping malls, international schools, cinemas, hotels, and luxury restaurants. Secondly, big cities are reasonable places for the young generation to develop their careers. This is because urban areas with fast and bustle peace often gather multiple factories and companies, especially international firms which require energetic and active young employers. Finally, it is more convenient for citizens when residing in modern cities. For example, dwellers in villages often spend hours going to work in the city centers, whereas, living in developed urban, they easily commute, leading to saving a lot of time.

However, this trend can cause some negative results. One of them is promoting the level of air pollution in metros. This is because there are more people in urban areas, enabling more vehicles to come into cities and emit fumes into the atmosphere which is one of the serious problems in every city. For example, Hanoi which has the most population in Vietnam witnessed the alarm level of polluted air in recent years. Furthermore, more people moving to cities can increase their spending on living due to an increase in the demand for dairy products and land. For instance, the housing cost in Shanghai, a famous city in China, is very expensive and increases continuously every single year.

In conclusion, the phenomenon which people leaving rural areas and moving to metropolitan areas is the result of desiring higher living conditions as well as developing future careers for young individuals. Nevertheless, this trend can cause higher air pollution and increased living expenses.