In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think it is? What problems can it cause?

In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas to urban areas. There are many reasons for that exodus. For example, it may be caused by the poor conditions or a low standard of living in rural areas, as rural areas are the least subjects for the government to invest on. However, a country needs labour in rural areas, therefore, rural areas are helpful for the country in terms of providing food from the agricultural fields.

To begin with, people are moving from the rural areas just because of the poor conditions of living there and it also may be due to the bad infrastructure in rural areas. In addition to this, some rural areas lack proper investment from the government, which may become a valid reason for the nation in rural areas to move towards urban areas. Although, rural areas are cleaner than urban areas and less crowded. Moreover, rural areas are the main source of food in almost every country as they’re nicely designed for agricultural developments.

On the other hand, urban areas are more developed than rural areas. For instance, in terms of education, infrastructure, higher standards of living, higher wages and salaries for citizens. However, urban areas are very crowded and usually more polluted than rural areas, which makes it not a safe place to live.

Overall, In my view, the relocation of people from rural areas to urban areas is primarily because of the poor conditions of living in rural areas and due to low investment for the infrastructure from the government. However, if this process of relocation continues, it can have negative effects towards the country’s economy as rural areas are the main source of food providement from the agricultural fields. Moreover, the government would have to spend more on food imports due to that internal migration.