In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think it is? What problems can it cause?

In many countries, a significant number of people are moving from the countryside to the city. The leading reasons for this are more appealing career and educational opportunities, vibrant events and beneficial acquaintances. To address the brain drain, local governments should anticipate improving infrastructure to make rural areas more attractive.

A major reason for migration is career prospects. Jobs in rural areas mostly involve low-paid physical labour in industrial factories or agriculture. As a consequence, young people brought up there experience limited employment options. In developing countries, local schools and universities struggle to provide proper education, too. As a result, parents tend to move to megapolises seeking a better future for their children. For instance, it is much more challenging for engineering students to acquire essential skills, as small universities often lack finances and do not provide equipment, so it is harder for such a candidate to land a dream job in a competitive environment.

The solution is relatively simple but hard to implement: develop infrastructure for rural areas and small towns. As long as citizens have everything they need, there is no reason to leave regions with small communities. Locals should be provided with sufficient healthcare, a wide range of job and career growth opportunities and high-quality school education. As freelancing and remote jobs are becoming increasingly common, authorities can consider attracting digital nomads. For instance, the mayor of a town in Croatia promised to give every family accommodation for living for nothing иге 1 dollar, which led to growing interest.

In conclusion, people are attracted to cities for better career prospects, education, and lifestyle opportunities. This migration can lead to a brain drain in small towns, leaving them underdeveloped and population ageing. To address this, local governments should focus on improving healthcare and education and creating diverse job options to make these places more appealing for life-long stay.