In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many parts of the world it is believed that people should bear the hospital expenses, others consider that the government should be responsible to pay the medical bills for the common public. I think a minimum wage requirement should be considered to get the government’s supplementation so that the money is used where it is needed the most.

Given the economic situation of the world in recent times, most of the working class people only have enough money to spend on providing basic necessities to their families. For example clothes, food, utility bills that are considered vital for survival. But affording medical care is considered a luxury for them. It is therefore important that the leaders provide the medical facilitation to ensure they get the treatments they deserve. Moreover, it is the government’s responsibility and fundamental human right to get the ultimate medical care.

However, this should not be the case for the affluent societies. Because they are secure people who can take good care of themselves and have the finances to buy health insurance. Hence they do not require the authorities’ funding. Instead the rich should be encouraged to donate to the hospitals so that the unfortunate can benefit from them. For instance, ‘Shaukat Khanam Hospital’ in Pakistan provides free treatment for non-affording cancer patients, and the idea runs on donations from the wealthy people.

In conclusion, a balance in the society needs to be established. Providing basic health care to every resident is of prime importance regardless of their status symbol. This can be implemented if in addition to the establishment, the more fortunate also focus on supporting the poor people to lead a healthy lifestyle.