In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in summer holidays. What is the value of long holidays? What are the arguments in favor of shorter school holidays.

Various nations have a summer school break for more than two months, and elementary and high schools are not active during this time. It is argued that this phenomenon is beneficial, as students have more time to rest and prepare for the next semester, while conversely, some consider longer holidays to have bad effects on students’ education.

It is frequently debated whether dedicating a noticeable amount of time to summer holidays will benefit students for several reasons, such as more leisure time. Having more free time allows them to participate in activities that would not fit into their schedule during the school year. For instance, they are able to take musical instrument courses or study extracurricular subjects. This helps them to recover and rest after a challenging year and boosts their morale for the next year. Ultimately, experiences and skills acquired during these holidays come to their aid in the job market after graduating.

On the other hand, many propose the idea of extending the school year and cutting the summer breaks short to give children more time to learn and study. It is believed that in order to fulfil educational purposes, students have to practice as much as they can. For example, longer classes and heavier homework help them practice more, and practice makes perfect. However, it is essential to remember that students are not machines, and putting more pressure on them may be harmful.

In conclusion, shutting the schools down for a more extensive period of time to let the students rest helps them get ready more efficiently for another year of studying and pursuing a career, but this idea does not appeal to everyone, as some argue that holidays should be shorter to have students study more.