In many countries, some students live with their families while studying, but other students prefer to attend universities in other cities. Do the advantages of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that numerous students are likely to choose to enter further education in other cities, while the others want to live with their family members during their study. Although doing this has several demerits, the merits may be far more significant.

On the one hand, there can be some minor shortcomings of living away from home. One possible issue is that these students do not get more attention from their parents. In fact, they may feel homesick and miss their family members, which can make them feel lonely and emotionally unstable, especially during the first few months. By way of illustration, a freshman living in another city might easily miss family dinners and feel sad when living alone. Another detrimental effect could be that studying so far from home is so expensive. For instance, they need to pay for accommodation, meals, and transportation in big cities, which can give rise to the fact that managing money becomes more difficult.

Nevertheless, the fact that people just graduating from high school have a formal education in another city can have major positive implications which overshadow these negative implications. The most obvious benefit could be that students become more independent. The reason for this is that they have to learn to make their own decisions and solve their problems without relying on their parents. Another merit worth mentioning is that they can experience a new experience and culture. This enables them to become more open-minded, thereby offering them the chance to expand their social circle and future opportunities.

In conclusion, despite the potential downsides of living away from home, the upsides brought about are of greater importance.