In many countries, students' concentration in the classroom has decreased. What are the reasons for this? What are some possible solutions?

In contemporary society, students’ low concentration in classroom has been observed. There have been various factors for individuals, but one common reason is the accessibility of smartphones for children from their little age. Accordingly, removal of smartphones from children’s daily life can tackle this issue.

Of course it is obvious that today’s fast-paced world make it impossible to be isolated from technology. Specially, in recent times, smartphones have occupied an integral part of people’s daily life, and all people- from 5 year old children to 70 year old people- engaged in this tool for various intends. Indeed, teenagers and student’s are an indispensable part of the consumers of this tool. They use smartphones throughout the day, and some of them had become addicted. There are various applications and large networking on this tools, such as games and social media. In fact, these comprise young people’s daily entertainment, in recent times. However, it makes them addicted. Subsequently, they start to lose their interest in subjects as they do not give them the same satisfaction. Moreover, smartphones make their brain busy and perplexed as they spend their times mostly staring at this tool. Consequently their eyes and brains get tired, and students begin to lose their concentration in classrooms. For instance, neurologists in the city hospital of Istanbul, states that school children have overused smartphones and it causes low concentration in their lessons, and the number of those patients increased last 2 year sharply.

To solve this issue, I think parents must take main responsibility, restricting the use of smartphones and observing their applications. Nowadays parents do not come across with the necessity of technology, and it can not be judged. However, they must be careful about the time that their children spend with their telephones and must remove some applications from their children sights, such as social media applications which present short videos those can make children addicted or some games which occupy children’s hours. They can provide some activities for them like sports or art hobbies, to meet their children’s entertainment need. Those activities both will part them from telephones and enhance their engagement in intellectual activity. Because, this kind of hobbies help to trigger mind to work healthy. For example, children from amateurs in sport federation in Ganja stated that, since they have started their fields in sports, their concentration in daily tasks and school boosted .

Generally, children’s engagement in school tasks declined as a result of extended time spent with the telephones. And parents can tackle this situation by appointing appropriate restriction and finding new activities for their children.