In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Living nowadays may be very demanding, fact that is comproved by the increase of the number of people suffering from stress. I believe this is due to the greater demands modern people tend to put on themselves, making them carry consecutively an heavy burden. Nevertheless, more and more people are starting to perceive this, thus seeking professional help that guides them to the roots of this problem.

For a start, I believe that managing stress is very related to understanding its causes. Nowaday’s people seem to always be running, or late for something . Hence, our brains never really rest. No matter what we are doing now, we are always thinking about what comes next. Therefore, there is not one only activity we trully take the time to enjoy and live. This creates a kind of inquietation that never stops and that, in my opinion, is the main causative of most people’s stress.

Moreover, in today’s world we are always being bombarded with new information that comes from all over the place, ranging from simple outdoors to our own mobile phones. This can contribute to a certain restless feeling, since we actually never get the time to just stop and reset. Additionally, social media also brings a big disturbant to our tranquility: illusional role models. The fact is that we are always comparing ourselves to what we see online. This creates an urge in us to have a certain lifestyle. However, most things we see online do not correspond exactly to reality. Usually, they are just a construction of a perfect situation in order to get views. Thus, when we compare ourselves to this situations, we will fall short on them. This may lead to obsessions or even desperation, which create, once again, stress.

Therefore, in order to tackle stress, the first steps should be taken so as to identify its origin. The cause may vary from person to person, with the factors ranging from a badly managed routine to irrealistic goals that came from illusions gotten online. After the causative is identified then the real steps into combatting stress can really start to take place. However, this process varies from person to person and in some cases may require professional help. Therefore, we as a community should start to normalize asking for help. Moreover, more sensibilization lectures should take place in the communities, since a vast majority of the people that are suffering from stress doesn’t even notice it or give it importance. These lectures should specially focus on the main causatives of stress, teaching communities on how to cope with the illusions they see online and on how to better manage their time.

Even though stress is a natural extension of the modern lifestyle, people should start to be more aware of it, specially to its causes, since the best way to overcome stress is to figth its causatives. Thus, we should normalize asking for help and sensibilization lectures about stress should be far more common.