In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

As medical technology and science advance by leaps and bounds, the average life expectancy is growing. Under these circumstances, whether the aging trend influences society positively or negatively has come into sharp focus among numerous social issues. For my part, although the increasing number of the elderly contributes to our lives in some ways, I believe that the change in population structure may lead to more serious problems.

Admittedly, one positive impact of population aging is a more substantial consumption potential in the market for the elderly, giving rise to the silver economy, including nursing homes, housekeeping services, universities of the third age, and elderly care products and services. However, due to the elderly’s relatively limited and basic consumption habits, the overall market vitality of the entire society tends to decrease.

On the other hand, with an increasingly aging society, the government’s expenditure on pensions and medical costs will increase dramatically, thereby imposing a heavy burden on taxpayers. For instance, in developed countries like Japan, the United Kingdom, and Finland, the authorities have relied on considerably raised taxation to care for the elderly. This has led to a lack of motivation for employees to work. Furthermore, in reaction to the crisis, many states might even delay the retirement age. For example, Singapore, a representative of an aging society in Asia, has proposed setting the re-employment age at 70.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that the steadily increasing proportion of the elderly prompts the development of a series of niche markets, there are more negative effects on society and individuals, and these social issues cannot be easily addressed.