In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Several nations all over the world witnessed a significant growth in the percentage of elderly people. From my perspective, I believe that the issue of aging rate brings a wider range of drawbacks than positive aspects

To begin with, increasing the proportion of senior citizens damages the government budgets and economic development. Instead of taking part in the workforce and paying taxes to authorities, people who are retired would use government aids such as medical insurance, retirement allowance and food, instead contributing to the economic growth of a country. In addition, this issue can have a serious impact on healthcare systems, particularly in nations where they are already under-funded and over-burdened. Leading to lack of healthcare facilities, treatment technologies or doctors who have expertise.

Secondly, older people who have lost the ability to earn money and take care of themselves. Therefore, their lives will depend on their offspring when they get old. As a result, young people have to work hard and sacrifice their mental and physical health to support their parents and ancestors. For example, more and more Korean couples just tend to have one child. Consequently, applying a high pressure on the young korean who have to purchase a huge amount of money for healthcare services and spend all their time taking care of both their father and mother when they get old.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the percentage of older people who are increasing dramatically can suffer from many disadvantages to the national economy and also the young.