In many countries, there is a growing trend of food waste at both the consumer and retail levels. What are the primary reasons for this problem, and what effective solutions can be implemented to minimize food waste?

Many regions experience an accelerating trend of food waste among both consumers and retail businesses. While individuals fail to consume all bought products, corporations struggle to match fluctuating market demand. I believe that only when both communities and companies start to tackle the problem, it could be overcome.

One major cause of food waste is irresponsible consumption linked to a media influence. Should people see a charming product on social media, they often buy it, even if they do not need it. A case in point is spicy sauces, popularized in 2017; the vast majoirty of people disposed of them, after they had tried them once.

Furthermore, retail companies also exacerbate food waste. When firms fail to supply enough products they lose both profits and reputation. Thereby, it is more reliable to overproduce to match the unstable market. Consequently, most products become expired before they are sold.

To solve the issue, companies should advertise ethical consumerism, while local communities should raise awareness about overproduction. First, businesses, despite potential economic losses, should promote responsible consumption. This could be achieved through advertisements, such as videos that show consequences of food waste. Second, what individuals should do, is organising grassroots movements targeting overproducing corporations. For example, people may threaten to cancel firms, unless they stop overproduction.

In conclusion, food waste is linked to impulsive behaviour of consumers and lack of corporate responsibility. Nevertheless, food waste could be ameliorated by raising awareness among consumers through social advertisements. Furthermore, individuals should raise awareness among companies via various campaigns.