In many countries today, major cities have become too big and overcrowded. Why it is? What methods could be taken to reduce this problem?

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for major metropolises around the world to grow excessively large and overcrowded. While this situation can be attributed to factors such as the increasing number of vehicles and rural-to-urban migration, I believe that governments can mitigate this pressing issue by implementing appropriate polices.

One of the primary reasons for this development is rural-to-urban migration. Mega-cities provide a wide range of employment opportunities, which attract many people from rural areas. With the ever-increasing cost of living around the globe, many individuals struggle to cover essential expenses such as healthcare, utility bills, and groceries, let alone enjoying a comfortable lifestyle. Given these economic challenges, it seems logical for people to migrate to urban areas in search of financial stability. Another major factor is the rising number of private cars, which contributes to metropolises becoming more overcrowded. This is because they create heavy traffic congestion and require more road infrastructure in cities.

To address this problem, governments should implement new policies related to migration or create more job prospects in rural areas. First and foremost, the government can reduce the urban-migration rate through increasing taxes on cities, despite this policy may receive a strong public backlash. This is because many people are unable to pay such high taxes, which are relatively higher than those in their hometowns. Moreover, opening new factories and other organizations in rural areas would be highly beneficial, all of which are an integral part of global job market. Such companies can offer a wider range of employment opportunities in rural regions, thereby improving the standard of living for the rural population.

In conclusion, although urban-bound migration and the rising number of private cars are main causes for this issue, I maintain that governments can alleviate this pressing problem by introducing effective regulations.