In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In many nations nowadays, city dwellers prefer living alone or in nuclear families to living in extended families. Personally, I think this is a positive trend.

Granted, one might argue that this trend can make family members less intimate with each other. This is based on the assumption that members will have a chance to interact in person with others everyday unless they live in a large family, which helps them be closer. However, this reason is not sound since it fails to take into account the fact that individuals are able to contact usually with others thanks to their electronic devices, such as smartphones, when they live in a small family. Thanks to this, the relationship between members of a family can still be good and close.

Additionally, there are many advantages of living alone or in a nuclear family. To begin with, thanks to living alone, they can have their own space to do whatever they want without worrying about others’ opinions. For example, they are free to stay up late or invite their friends to their houses. Moreover, there are fewer conflicts that individuals have to deal with when living in a small family. This is because each person has a different lifestyle and point of view, so the fewer members are under the roof the fewer conflicts occur. As a result, their daily lives more harmonious and peaceful.

In conclusion, although this trend can have some drawbacks for people, I believe that the benefits are much more significant.