In many countries today, there are people living on or below the poverty line. Why is this the case? what can be done to solve this problem?

In several countries today, people live on or below the poverty line. This could be due to an increase in the prices of the usual goods and services in the and the high rates of unemployment. The solution to this is that the government of the respective country needs to provide education services to the needy and keep track of the financial situation of the nation.

During elections, especially in countries where there are multiparty systems, there is a massive investment on rallies campaigns, propoganda etc by all the parties. To account for this investment, the prices of the most basic needs such as groceries are raised. The people on the poverty line are unable to afford even the basic necessities and are thus susceptible to health problems. Even though they might have the required knowledge and skills for a job, companies prefer not hiring them because of their grim health conditions as they might not have the stamina to tackle strenuous tasks. The governments must work towards improving the lives of the citizens on and below the poverty line by launching schemes and programmes instead of spending millions and billions on unwanted things.

In the recent times there has been an increase in the unemployment rates in many countries. For example, a large number of individuals do not have to required skills for a specific job and thus become a liability for their country. There is a need to launch specific skill development programs at an affordable price in order to train the citizens with the skills they need for jobs that are in the high demand. This will help create more assets and improve the condition of employment in the country.

In conclusion, poverty is a common problem worldwide and sincere measures need to be taken by those in power, in order to solve this issue.