In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country's past?

Most people believe that one way to preserve contact with our past and conception of it is national dress and costume. In my opinion, traditional clothing is an important part of history but there is another aspect which we see next.

Admittedly, traditional dress is a handsome mark in some cultures. The phrase ‘you are judged by your appearance’ fits very well because since ancient times, ethnic clothing plays a key role in society. For example, in an Uzbek family,after the wedding, the bride usually wear adras and meet costumes in a special cultural abayka, like that she demonstrates her respect for nationality.

However, traditional attire is just a property. In our generation there is another, more effective way to conserve memory of a background like a national rituals. In some countries, traditional holidays are conducted in a similar way, giving the possibility to relax and enjoy native atmosphere. For instance, in Russia,holidays called carnival are managed yearly , on this day, some individuals cook pancakes after that, they ride a sleigh and on weekends, some citizens burn an effigy.

Additionally, relation between past and future was not only cultural dress and the same rituals, yet also the heritage left by our ancestors. Our lineage left a significant step in our story both in knowledge and experience. To illustrate George Washington, in his testament, decided to release slaves, though he was a slaveholder it was a considerable mark at that time.

Overall, what was discussed we understand, every method is effective for maintenance a link with our tradition. Furthermore, every one does so especially in their own