In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, less and less children follow the news whether it is newspaper or on TV. There are a few causes for this, younger people can find it hard to understand the language used by medias and they are often more intersted in just playing, as well as parents rarely encourage them to follow. In this essay I will bring up some suggestion on how to encourage them to follow the news.

One of the hardest thing for younger people when they read or watch the news is the difficulty to understand the language and vocabulary used by medias, which is often quite formal and academic, thus, inadapted for children. A simple solution for governments to get younger people more involved in actual events is to edit simpler versions more inclusive for them. For example some countries like finland, are already publishing children friendly edition of their newspaper, which has a significant impact on their understanding and foster their interest towards it.

Moreover, parents often use their smartphone to read or watch news. This is due to the abundant availability of information on social medias. However, the downside of it is that in countries like Australia, teenagers are not allow to use them. Consequently, they have not the same access to news. To foster their offspring to read newspapers, parents should spend less time on their phone and read more, as children are often copying their parents behaviour.