In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone. To what degree shoul their parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 years-old children?

Without any doubt, parents should accompany their children throughout their growth until they reach the age to gain their own rights and responsibilities on different matters. To what extent this leading role should affect children is the matter under discussion. In my opinion, providing children with moral principles is crucial to make them become good citizens. Nonetheless, parents should not be too strict when making the rules.

It is undoubtedly true that adults play a key role in a child’s life. As a matter of fact, the lessons we are given at a young age leave a deep mark on us for the rest of our lives. To be told what to do is a new, curious thing in the mind of infants, whereas rules become an ordinary thing during adulthood. As a consequence, lessons at a young age become a part of our lived that cannot be removed and lead us through our decisions. A recent study showed that orphans have more difficulties in finding their own path as they lacked their parents’ teachings in their childhood.

On the other hand, imposing rules has its drawbacks. If not correctly defined, children can feel boundaries as a cage from which they should escape. The role of a parent is to find the balance between teaching how to act good and leaving his son a certain degree of freedom. It is scientifically proven that what has been strictly forbidden becomes an object of desire for an infant. As a result, bad habits and behaviors are seeked by teenagers when rules become too tight.

In conclusion, nobody can argue that parenthood does not influence children’s future lives. In order to make a positive impact, an equilibrium must be found between limitation and freedom, so that the child follows his parents’ advice instead of becoming a rebel.