In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone. To what degree shoul their parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 years-old children?

In several countries worldwide, young people have received some responsibilities and pleasure when they are sixteen. Obviously, many parents continue to protect them until they are eighteen. While others leave them to themselves. It is argued that which opinion is more rational. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the intervention for teenagers.

To begin with, overcontrol by parents can lead to several drawbacks for young people. One of the remarkable reasons is that excessive control can lead to overprotection. Indeed, in order to gain real-life experience, teens will need to undergo a process of trial and error, which will help them more resilience in later life. However, if parents take away this benefit from their children, they can easily become vulnerable and cannot deal with their own problems. In addition, stages of adolescence are natural and important phrase of humankind. Obviously, every person needs to experience the changes of mental and physical to become an adult.

Besides, intervening teens can bring some benefits for teenagers. One of the rational reasons is that teenagers are incapable of taking responsibility for their privilege. When children reach the age of sixteen, they can receive numerous advantages, such as: driving a car and drinking alcoho which they do not have sufficient potential to think meticulously before doing. Consequently, teens can be addicted to drugs and alcohol. Furthermore, some information needs to be kept by parents. Indeed, teens usually are objects to crime for kidnapping or hacking significant information, taking bank accounts as an example, which students rarely learn at school. Therefore, some personal information or documents need to be kept by parents and returned to individuals when they reach the age of eighteen.

In conclusion, although the lack of parental attention and overprotection could have both advantages and disadvantages, I think that parents should pay attention to teenagers until they come of age. Because young people can be protected and get away from criminal or negative habits.