In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone. To what degree shoul their parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 years-old children?

In many regions and cultures on the world, adolescents who age 16 would become more independent by permissed to responsible for themselves. However, many opined children from 14 to 15 years old should have more guidance from parents to get more experience before turning 16. From my perspective, I partly agree to this opinion.

Initially, it is completely true that children who are under 16, tend to be immature in terms of emotions. As an inevitable feeling during a child raising process, the majority of them have numerous curious about the world. Therefore, without suitable intervention and guidance, they would like to do whatever they want satisfy their questions about the world. Besides, virtually 14 to 15-year-old children do not have the ability to predict consequences of actions that they are going to do. Hence, they could possibly push themselves into dangerous and injurous cases.

In contrast, overprotection is not totally an efficient way to nurture children and it potentially can also cause further negative impacts on children rather than positive. For the vast majority of children, prevent them from discovering the world can make them be more inactive and have not good characteristics. In reality, many children who are indecisive, fear to take responsible for their life, and other boundaries compared others, are mainly result from an authoritative parenting. As a result, when these children turn 16 and starting to live their own life without parents’ governments and obsevations, will lack the ability the cope with tough obstacles.

In summary, while intervention and management during teen period is necessary to prepare children knowledge and skills for their future, excessive interventions have many incredible drawbacks that parents should consider before implementing.