In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone. To what degree shoul their parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 years-old children?

Governments across the world, grant specific rights and duties such as voting to all teenagers entering the age of 16. In order to have healthy responsible individuals, families are expected to raise their children to the best of their ability. Some social critics insist, that parents should have complete control over children. However, I will argue that such radical behaviors could lead to undesirable results.

One popular opinion is that mothers, as care takers in families, have an obligation to provide decent respectful children to the country. In many regions such as Asia and Middle east, mothers carry out this obligation by restricting the circle of their pupil’s friends. Unfortunately, these methods could end to timidness and insecurity. Many teenagers grown up with controlling parents, contend with lack of self-esteem along with people pleasing tendencies.

The healthiest way to ensure that pupils grow up with enough confidence to be influential in society in a positive way, is to introduce some red lines without limiting pupils for self- exploration and mistakes. Parents should remember that no one can build character and responsibility without making mistakes. Moreover, adults, who were allowed more freedom in childhood, are believed to be excellent fathers and social activists. For instance, many entrepreneurs in the US, used to have a high degree of freedom as a child, where they used to follow personal passions and ideas without restriction.

In summary, families’ expectations and limitations on children should be shortened to make room for failure. By applying more moderate attitudes toward teens, society could have dutiful and diligent citizens.