In many modern societies, grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandparents. What do you think are the consequences of this?

Nowadays, the elderly do not get to spend enough time with their nephews and nieces. This development stems from the fact that technology and entertainment have taken over children’s lives and that many modern societies tend to disregard the importance of family ties. Such a phenomenon has dire repercussions on both seniors and young people, as it makes the former individuals more liable to mental health problems and deprives the latter group from the feelings of belonging and unity.

Technology has provided people with an easy and quick source of dopamine. Therefore, many choose to spend hours on screens that they forget to live their real lives. Children are among the most affected age groups, because many forms of entertainment have been forged to cater for their interests. Consequently, it is obvious that many of them prefer to watch cartoons or play video games all day instead of going out or interacting with the family, which they find less interesting and stimulating. A 2019 American study showed that the average American teenager spends more than 8 hours daily on their phones and computers. Furthermore, the rise of individualism in societies has led many people to belittle the significance of family relations and traditional values. This means that even adults are sometimes reluctant to visit their elderly parents, and consequently, their children pick up after them.

Notwithstanding the fact that this is common and normalized, it has many deleterious consequences on grandparents, grandchildren, and society. Being abandoned by their own families fosters a sense of detachment and loneliness. This has severe effects on the mental health of the elderly and makes them prone to depression, anxiety, and even suicidal ideation. Moreover, children who grow up without strong family ties are more likely to develop certain personality disorders such as the anti-social or schizoid types. Furthermore, said children usually propagate such ideas to their progeny, further contributing to the segregation in society.

To summarize, children are too busy on their electronic devices to care about seeing their grandparents. Moreover, they were never taught about the importance of maintaining such relationships. This phenomenon harms both the elderly and the young, as it makes them more liable to mental health problems and leads to a weaker society.