In many parts of the world, people do research on their family history. Some people believe that finding out about previous generations is a useful thing to do. However, others believe that it is better to focus on present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a school of thought that descendants should investigate their ancestor’s history, whereas some others consider that attention to present and future offspring is more consequence. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favor of the former notion.

On the one hand, it is understandable that only focusing on the family’s current and future generations could be advantageous to a certain extent. Firstly, instead of investing time in researching ancestors, the focus should be on shaping a better future for the present and upcoming generations. For example, numerous nuclear families in America nowadays tend to concentrate on taking care of their own families and children through a variety of factors, such as education, healthcare, and career, which could allow sustainable development in the future of the family. Secondly, this trend could be favorable for fostering progressively the development of a nation. As a result, dedicating energy to the present allows individuals to address immediate challenges and contribute positively to society, making a tangible impact on the global stage.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that it is more beneficial to research family history. One reason is that learning about their lineage which possible for someone to develop a deeper connection to their ethnic roots. This is because migration communities may need to preserve their heritage and culture when they are in a foreign land. Another reason is that by studying one’s ancestry, people can discover fascinating information about their bloodline. For instance, in Vietnam, a number of people can exploit their lineage back to the war, giving them great stories about heroic ancestors who fought for their peace today, which helps them have the opportunity to share with their descendants and reinvigorate their patriotism.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that attention on the current family and shaping a better future for offspring is beneficial to a certain extent, I would contend that investigating family history can be more significantly useful than not.