In many places of the world, more larger supermarkets are built while smaller local shops are closing down. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to local people?

In various parts of the world many large malls and supermarkets are getting constructed resulting in the closing down of small local shops. The advantages of this advancement are way more compared to its disadvantages as it creates employment opportunities for youth and provides a large variety of options for customers to shop.

On one hand, there are various perks of the emergence of supermarkets in the cities. Firstly, this trend had increased the job opportunities for the people. In other words, individuals are able to find employment locally and they no more have to commute long distances in search of jobs. Secondly, supermarkets provide more options and variety for the people to shop. To elaborate this point, small shops have limited merchandise and lack the customer experience that is experienced while shopping in the big malls or supermarkets. Therefore, the customers can purchase multiple items at a single place.

On the other hand, this advancement also has a major drawback. It has resulted in the closing down of the local shops, impacting the income of the local business owners. In other words, customers no longer prefer to shop at small shops and prioritise shopping at big malls because of which local businesses face hefty losses. A salient example of this is that many small local shops in my society have shutdown after the construction of a shopping mall. Due to this, many local business owners have faced heavy losses and are thriving hard to find a new source of income.

To conclude, the perks of emergence of supermarkets and malls are excessively more compared to its negative implications as this advancement offers new job opportunities to individuals and provides a variety of options to people to shop, but at the same time impacts the businesses of small shop owners as customers no longer want to shop there.