In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

From my perspective, there are two main reasons leading to the decision to study arts subjects or science courses of male and female students, and I believe that it’s best if this tendency changes.

Public belief and sexual-specific characteristics are the two dominant factors that render the trend. Firstly, for thousands of years, the portrait of female and male individuals’ careers has been formed that male students are supposed to learn science knowledge to distribute to the social life, attributed to girls lacking opportunities to approach science subjects. Gradually, it’s believed that girls are likely to enroll in aesthetics, language, and literature courses, and boys usually hesitate to register for arts courses instead of mathematics or physics. On the other hand, due to abundant opportunities and environment, male individuals’ logical abilities have grown, and so have female individuals’ right-brain abilities.

Personally, there should be an alternation from this tendency. The existence of this trend is partially attributed to the result of students registering for unsuitable subjects as well as their tertiary education and careers. An open environment where people freely attend various classes that suit their development and interests is proposed to evolve life aspects and decrease sexual discrimination.

In conclusion, I’m persuaded that the influence of public belief and gender characteristics are reasons for male and female students’ decisions on courses. Plus, it’s important to immediately change this tendency.