In more and more countries, people give money on special occasions rather than personally giving gifts. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s world purchasing special gifts is less valuable, there are several factors might be affecting this tendency, and then state that on the whole, this is a negative development.

Nowadays, people are less likely to give presents to each other and it happens for different reasons. Firstly, due to a hectic lifestyle people avoid choosing for the special gifts for their friends. What I mean by that is that some people are overloaded with works, and they have to work a lot of hours a day, however they pay less attention to looking for individual presents. Moreover, giving money as a special gift is less affordable for some people, however it brings minimum responsibility to allocate time for choosing a specific gift. For example, if a special occasion such as birthday, New Year’s Eve and etc. happening in the less important environment such as office or school, people avoid wasting their time to buying gifts and they prefer to give money instead of it.

There are several negative effects of this development. First of all, special gifts have grateful impact on people that they are feel themselves more valuable, when they receive money as a gift that it might have adverse effect on them. For example, in a marriage, if a husband give money to his wife as a gift for her birthday or an anniversary instead of flower, it might be hurts her feelings and making her upset. Furthermore, if someone has quite sufficient salary and receiving money as a gift might impact on them disrespectful impressions.

In conclusion, I believe that giving money instead of special gifts can influence people’s relationships in different ways, and it has several negative effects, such as lack of respect between individuals, feeling them less valuable and etc.