In most countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Worldwide, fast food is becoming more affordable and readily accessible. While this development has benefits, such as offering people something easy and quick to eat during their busy working hours, its harms outweigh them because such food is usually high in calories and unhealthy, leading to a myriad of health problems.

On the one hand, most people lead a life that is so busy that they do not have enough time to eat and drink well. Restaurants such as McDonald’s, Pizza Hut, and others offer tasty, satisfying food that is easy to eat, quickly served, and for relatively cheap prices, making them ideal for everyday consumption at work. For example, eating a Big Mac is easier and more affordable than preparing a home-cooked meal daily.

On the other hand, fast food is usually filled with unhealthy fats to provide the flavor and texture; thus, it is most often high in calories and devoid of important vitamins, minerals, and fibers. Eating fatty food is the most important risk factor for obesity, diabetes, hypertension, and all of their complications, such as heart attacks and strokes. Therefore, making fast food widely available with no alternatives can be a cause of a chronic disease pandemic. For instance, a 2020 American study suggested that workers who consume fast food on a daily basis are more prone to devastating health problems, such as fatty liver, than their counterparts who eat home-prepared meals.

In conclusion, while the wide availability of affordable fast food will offer people an easy solution to keep full throughout the day, eating it in excessive amounts is tied to huge health risks, and therefore, this essay concludes that the disadvantages of this phenomenon outweigh the advantages.