In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

over the last few decades, the family unit has experienced significant changes, both in terms of organizations and roles played by each family member. this essay will examine these changes and consider whether it has more harmful or beneficial impacts. although I would argue that these are outweighted by the advantages.

first of all, one major difference is on the parent working pattern. nowadays, women are encouraged to be well educated and give contributions through working and achievement in the aspects of business, education, even politics. the standard of men having to be the only breadwinner in the family has been reversed, which leads to the responsibility of women not being the only one in charge of childcare. currently, women work in superior positions as manager, team leader, even government officials. this can lead to the housekeeper and childcare role fall on the hand of babysitter.

from my perspective, these changes have had both negative and positive impacts. the absent from parents will affect the children as it can affect their emotional and social development, possibly leading to misbehavior and lack of self esteem. on the other hand, the changing roles of the modern family has resulted in greater freedom for women, who can now choose to pursue a career while ensuring their financial stability.

to conclude, both sides have the valid points to support their arguments. however, i tend to agree with the latter view, as women now have greater opportunities to join the workforce, as long as parenting is not neglected.