In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

In this day and age, the family unit and task delegation at home are becoming altering drastically. In this essay, i am going to point out the notable changes before elaborating the reason why I believe this is a positive development. Unquestioningly, in today’ society, the family structure has witness a welcome change. In the past, multigenerational family was prevailing because they believe that when all parents, siblings, grandparents, ants and uncles live together under one roof, family reunions could be easy and convenient. However, nowadays, the extended families are replaced by the existence of a number of nuclear families due to the fact that the fewer family members, the less trouble and conflict. For instance, in a family which contains lots of generation, the generational gap as well as the difference between personal habit could pose a host of problems like using the same toilet.

In addition to family fabric, the family role has also seen improvements and innovations. The alteration from the fact of “men build house and women make it home” to the growing financial contribution of women is occurred. Men was the only breadwinner who went outside to work and provide finance for family and women took responsibility for household chores and childrearing, which could be seem as a norm of the past but accompanied by the development of society, female participation in the workforce has been increased significantly. Both parents are in charge of earning money or in many circumstances, stay-at-home dad are responsible for handling the chores and caring for children. It is a positive development because in the modern world, when the gender equality is common, thanks to the shift in family duties, men could be given an invaluable opportunity to understand and appreciate the role of their wife. As a result, the family would be more and more equal, harmonious and the rate of happiness in this country will see a positive growth.

In conclusion, the alteration in family structure and household duties is a advantageous trend for the development of family and society. It is predictable that this practice could flourish inexorably and bring many benefits for humans.