In recent years, there has been a considerable rise in crimes committed by young people in cities. What has caused this? What solutions can you suggest?

It must be accepted that nowadays, there has been a significant increase in episodes of offences committed by the young especially in the urban areas. This is a fearful situation. There are many reasons for such a situation; however, a few productive suggestions can solve the situation to a large extent. The causes and the measures are discussed further.

Examining the reasons, the most common is to live up and enjoy the glamour of the big city. It has been observed that young people get easily obsessed by all the pleasures of the urban life such as the discos, the clubs and other fun attractions. For this they need money and so to earn fast bucks, they commit crime. The other prime reason is drugs and alcohol. Commit crime out of a strong desire to fulfil their habits. Poverty and unemployment in this age group are another driving forces for the offences.

However, a few measures can really help to overcome the situation. The most important step is to keep strict vigilance at public places and place of entertainment. Closed circuit cameras, more police force, special police patrolling at night, for instance, can effectively help to reduce criminal activities. Another suggestion is to try and bifurcate the youth energy constructively, by organising events such as dance competitions, treasure hunts, marathons and other fulfilled activities. Creating more part time jobs and raising education level among the young people can also help in a large way to reduce crime by the young.

All in all, it can be said that certainly there are swelling numbers of crime in the meteors and cities. To live up to the glamour and earn fast money – young people commit crime. However, strict vigilance and bifurcating youth energy can help remedy the situation. I believe, this debate must be considered on a serious note.