In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

It is observed that female students often major in arts, while their male counterparts are more inclined to choose science disciplines. This trend probably stems from the fact that each gender, by nature, cares about different aspects and it is wrong to change this pattern because they opt for a certain major out of their own volition and their choice should be respected.

There is a preponderance of empirical evidence suggesting that girls tend to be more interested in people and feelings rather than things around them. For example, young girls often play with dolls, which have human characteristics, rather than cars, and often engage in dancing or singing activities, which are primarily invented to showcase human feelings. Most young boys, on the other hand, are naturally curious about the nature of phenomena around them rather than how someone feels. This predisposition manifests itself in how boys tend to play with toy cars, guns and trains and in how they enjoy solving Sudoku puzzles or playing chess. Thus, differences in choices of academic pursuit can be attributed to human nature.

The fact that males tend to dominate science domains, while females do so in arts majors should not be changed for several reasons. Firstly, people of each gender often choose their major of study based on their passions and interests or on what they do best, so their choice most certainly matches their personality and innate talent. Trying to meddle with someone’s choice because of their gender is fundamentally sexist, and utterly pointless. As for the latter, there is absolutely no benefit whatsoever if a boy, who is naturally keen on the scientific side of things, is persuaded to pursue a singing or acting career.

In conclusion, each gender seems to naturally take interests in different aspects of life, and they should be allowed to do so.